Have a wonderful Summer everyone.


Reception is the final year of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. 

During their time in Reception, children's learning activities and experiences continue to be underpinned by the seven areas of learning and development set out in the EYFS Statutory Framework (2021).  All seven areas are important and interlinked. There are three prime areas of learning which are crucial building their capacity to learn, form positive relationships and thrive. These three prime areas are:


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)


There are a further four areas of learning known as the specific areas of learning, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. These are:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


During the Reception year, children will spend a greater amount of time receiving adult directed teaching in Literacy and Mathematics. As part of this, children will receive a daily phonics and maths meeting session, in addition to the adult directed literacy or maths activity. 


The EYFS also sets out Characteristics of Effective Learning which encourage children to develop positive learning behaviours. Through the schools values we endeavour to support children into becoming resilient, happy and resourceful members of the community.