Home Page



Celtic Cross Education is committed to maintaining the unique nature of all of the schools within the Trust and believes this is best achieved by giving a clear mandate to Local School Monitoring councils (SMC) to be the drivers of school improvement. The Trust gives these Local Councils the freedoms to focus on the challenge and support for the improvements in teaching and learning and the curriculum by ensuring the synergies of belonging to a MAT allow statutory obligations to be dealt with centrally. This, coupled with the defined role of the senior leaders within the schools setting enables Heads of School to deal exclusively with the day-to-day management of the individual schools; the burden of Finances, Resources and Personnel issues are dealt with by the Principal and the Central Administrative Team. This freedom gives the leader in the school the maximum time and resources to effectively engage with all stakeholders and manage the schools effectively on a day-to-day basis. With a School Improvement Lead working full-time across the schools, this partnership with SMCs, Heads of School and staff strive to provide the best for every child in the Trust. Initial oversight of performance of both St Tudy and St Mabyn is undertaken by Mr Shaun Perfect Hub Lead. 

Welcome to the Governors section


The Governors at our school are made up of a number of governors representing St Mabyn School and also St Tudy School.  We have a 'joint' School Monitoring Council.

The councillors all have specific roles, with some attending Academy meetings at the Central office in Bodmin.

 Our Chair of Governors is Mrs Carole Grigg. She is a Foundation Governor and also monitors RE and Collective Worship.
 Ms Kate McLean is a Parent Governor. She is our maths governor, monitoring lessons, progress and looking at books. Kate also monitors Early Years. 

Mr David Bishop is a Foundation governor and a Director of Celtic Cross Education MAT. He is our Literacy governor. 

Miss Jennie Franklin and Mrs Brigid Howells are our two Staff Governors. Mr Stuart Renshaw (Principal) also attends all governor meetings.

Michelle Evans, Kate Willcocks  are Parent Governors.



See below for full Member, Director and Governor details.

How to contact a governor

Often the best governor to contact if you have a question, a concern or a complaint, in the first instance is the parent governor as they are usually around at the start or the end of the day. They can suggest who may be best to talk to – it may be the Head of School (if it is a curriculum query or concern) –the chair of governors (if it is a complaint) or the Hub Lead (if it is a concern about safeguarding).

The chair of governors can be contacted via each school – letters can always be given to her directly. She can be contacted via email address:

Councillors also attend our termly services and special events and so are always happy to answer questions or to help if it is needed.

If you need to speak to a specific governor, then please always ask the school as contact can always be made.

Any governance enquiries can be sent to:

The Celtic Cross